The Life I Left Behind

Standard
The Life I Left Behind

A smile dances on my lips,
Laughter bubbles in my chest,
My mind soars to new heights,
My worries put to rest.

Working like a dog,
Sweating blood and tears,
Day and night, I built a life,
So now happiness found me here.

I could’ve whined and complained,
Cursed the unfairness of it all,
Got stuck in the poverty I was in,
Yet a better life calls.

Through storms and hurricanes,
I grew wings and learned to fly,
Never looking back,
On the life I left behind.

Leave a Reply

